Home » Astrology » What does “beyond the stars” mean?

What does “beyond the stars” mean?

Alison meets the Caterpillar, who asks her some important questions

Thank you for asking…

I always think questions like this indicate that a) someone is thinking and b) someone cares. In this case, my blog is predicated upon one fairly simple belief: that astrology does not offer enough of an answer to the personal issues and questions that too frequently come up, and that it was time for me to do some useful research, not as a mean-spirited, disbelieving skeptic, who always sounds biased and prejudiced against the entire subject of astrology, but instead gently, from the perspective of one who has studied and practiced astrology for many years.

Therefore, ‘beyond astrology’ means that I would like to ask questions that take the conversation beyond the stars, into other places of enquiry, that attempt to encompass the entire subject of how we mere mortals handle the occult, why we make use of astrology in the first place, what role it serves in society, its history, etc.

Being asked riddles with no answers and reciting poetry that makes no sense, Alice is nonetheless ridiculed by the Hatter and the March Hare, both of whom are entirely mad, you know

One of my goals has been to attempt to make some sense of why people take it so seriously—-both in the sense that it can provide answers to their real-life problems, and why others are so offended by it. The significant emotional responses from both ends of the spectrum perplex me.

Further, astrology is only one of the many occult arts, and as such, coming from a questioning perspective, I wanted to “go beyond” only talking about astrology, and open up my blog to more than the one subject, especially since if you study history, you find a myriad of myths, cultures, and perspectives inform astrology. Astrology as we know it, or think we know it, in the West today, is an amalgam of many different cultures, beliefs, myths, and religions.

I thought it would be a good idea for me, someone who is very interested in all these facets of history, to start to write about them and get some kind of better understanding of what I’ve been yammering on about with very little true knowledge all these years. So this blog is a way for me to ‘force’ myself to do the research that will help me understand what lies beyond astrology’s limitations.

The problem is, of course, someone is invariably lecturing me and telling me I’m wrong.

Ultimately, I suppose I am searching for a meta-awareness of what astrology is, why it became so very important to previous generations, and why we still continue to rely on it, against all odds that it “works.” The questions I am asking are less to do with “does astrology work,” because that question seems a bit banal; everyone asks that at some point, don’t they?

My question is, “why do we continue to hope it “works,” since there is absolutely no evidence that it does anything more than put a finger in the dike of emotional turbulence?

Also, I wonder if I continue to look beyond “the stars,” beyond aspects, constellations, the chart, readings, etc., is there some piece of information about humanity that will make astrology understandable?

I suspect that for me, the answer is that I have uncovered the historical reality that astrology emerged out of a rather desperate desire to feel some control over what is perceived as an uncontrollable destiny, humanity’s understandable fear that we are at the mercy of the elements and the unknown.

So, this blog is about what lies beyond our attempt to know the unknown. The stars represent what we think we know. We certainly map the stars in an attempt to know the cosmos better than we do, but why?

We don’t live there. We have no practical need for this knowledge most of the time, unless we’re scientists; yet we are curious. So this blog is also about basic curiosity. Think of me as Alice. I have dropped down the rabbit hole, and I am entirely open to where it takes me.

Leave a Reply

